|Kluczewo||| Drukuj ||
Kluczewo is located between Drawsko Lake (about 2 km on the east from it) and Prosino Lake (1 km on the north-west). It is a rather big village, which attracts tourists by an excellent agrotouristic farm, splendid shops and a small factory making delicious candies called "krowki".
This place is a superb starting point for many excursions or trips, not only in the boundaries of Czaplinek commune. Above that, the village has a long, turbulent history, reaching XIV century, connected with a specific location of Kluczewo - on the northern edge of drahim's land. For hundreds of years it used to be a border village, many times burnt and rebuilt. This period is famous for a "pig war".
The conflict began in 1578, when Manteufflows from Polczyn were the northern neighbours of drahim's property. Manteufflows' pigs were grazed on the Polish side of the border near Kluczewo. In this situation, the mayor of Kluczewo ordered to confiscate the pigs. When it happened, Manteufflows military crossed the border, entered the region of Poland, burnt Kluczewo and abducted the inhabitants, cattle and their own pigs. This incident became so loud in the country that Pomeranian Duke, Barnim XII had to intervene. He ordered Manteufflows to return captives and cattle, and to pay contribution for the damaged property.
On the local cemetery we can find a monument built in memory of Polish soldiers who died in this area during the battles in 1945.
When we approach Kluczewo, which is situated on the top of a picturesque hill, the first thing we spot is the spire of the church tower. The church itself is not too big, paved with field stones and built probably in 1866 in Neo-Gothic style. The interesting thing is that part of the inner equipment of the church is much older than walls and roof. For example, the bell (invisible from outside) comes from 1648. Inside the church, we can see a beautiful baroque crucifix, made of lime tree and a classical painting from 1817 "Mary and Infant". At the back side of the temple, there is a huge nest occupied regularly, year by year from 60 years, by a family of storks.
In the neighborhood of the church, we can see an ornithology reserve - Prosino Lake. It is possible to observe here o lot of bird species, including swans, great crested grebes, little grebes, teals, gadwalls, mallards, eurasian marsh, snipes, common king fisher and eurasian peduline tits. This reserve is also a very valuable botanic object with water, rushes and thicket plant complexes. Moving north from the lake, we can discover a settlement from early medieval ages.
This is just where Polczyn's Switzerland begins. The marvelous combination of hills, lakes, rivers and forests is the highest and most beautiful part of frontal moraine (remnant of the glacier). This miracle of nature is famous and can be well observed from the picturesque road 163 Walcz - Kolobrzeg which on Drawskie Lakeland section is called The Road of The One Hundred Turnings. The road is marked out along the Valley of Five Lakes: Krzywe, Krag, Dlugie, Glebokie and Male joined with each other by Drawa River and surrounded by the hills of over 200 m height. Old, thick, outstandingly beautiful (especially in autumn) beech forests cover the slopes of the hills from its tops to the level of shimmering water in the lakes.
|Zmieniony ( 09.02.2007. )|
|« poprzedni artykuł||następny artykuł »|